Workers’ compensation in Jackson is a crucial part of your support as an employee. As part of the labor force in the States, you get several different benefits depending on the state you work from. One of those benefits is the workers’ compensation provided to all employees in a business. Before trying to figure out if your employer provides workers’ compensation, you need to understand what exactly workers’ compensation entails and how liability works in cases of any harmful accidents while on a regular work shift.
Contacting a workers’ compensation attorney in Jackson will help you know your rights and limitations related to workers’ compensation. Let’s dig this subject a bit deeper.
What is workers’ compensation in Jackson, Mississippi?
Workers’ compensation is a type of insurance designed to ensure a “no-fault” coverage for a lot of injuries and accidents to workers’ that may or may not happen while on the job. It is a government-mandated insurance scheme to ensure that employers always protect their employees’ safety and well–being.
The workers’ compensation bill was passed through the legislature in the year 1948 that guarantees the employees certain benefits while also protecting the employers from facing legal troubles. The workers’ compensation committee was established, and several offices were opened across the country, including one in Jackson, Mississippi, to supervise and maintain the legislature concerning all kinds of claims and disputes that might arise from claiming workers’ compensation by different employees for any reason whatsoever.
What does workers’ compensation cover in Jackson, Mississippi?
Any illness and injury that might arise from the employment, either sudden or due to continued exposure to the work environment, is covered under workers’ compensation. This insurance also includes claims that arise out of death. It doesn’t matter if your injury is slight or extremely serious, you will be covered by workers’ compensation as long your employer provides it.
Moreover, there is no grace time or minimum earnings requirement to be eligible for workers’ compensation. You will be covered under it as soon as your employment begins at your workplace. Unlike other insurance schemes, workers’ compensation does not have any deductible either. Your employer directly takes care of your insurance premium.
How and what are the payments involved in workers’ compensation made?
The employer makes all payments to the insurance company directly according to the agreed-upon plan and contract. In case of any claim, all expenses are directly met by the insurance company and the employer to be paid to the service provider such as hospitals, doctor consultations, etc.., while paying the employee any compensation such as meeting transport expenses for doctor visits, or compensation for wage loss. Wage loss compensation, once started, is to be paid at least once in 14 days.
How many days of missed work are considered for workers’ compensation?
All medical expenses for injuries due to the employment environment are covered regardless of the number of days missed. In cases of any disability causing you to miss work for 14 days or less, you will be compensated for missing work after the first five days. These five days are known as the five-day waiting period. In case of any disability that causes you to miss work for more than 14 days, no such waiting period exists, and you can be compensated for all the wages lost due to missing your work.
Depending on how severe the injury is, payments made as compensation to the worker due to wage loss are typically two-thirds of the average weekly wages of that employee. Under the workers’ compensation legislature, this compensation under no circumstances can be greater than 450 times the maximum weekly amount established by the legislature. In case of death, the maximum limit applies to total payments made to the spouse or any dependents, either natural or legal.
From January 1, 2013, the maximum benefit for injuries per week is $ 449.12. The maximum limit overall is 450 times this amount, which comes to $ 202,104. 00 in total. This is only the maximum amount you are entitled to be paid in compensation in Jackson, Mississippi. However, depending on your wage, you might be paid even less considering, according to the legislature, you are only entitled to two-thirds of the weekly pay you are due.
How long can you expect to get wage loss compensation?
Wage loss compensation in cases of total or permanent disability does not exceed a maximum of 450 weeks. In cases of less than permanent or partial disability, the duration depends on a case-by-case basis; however, it will not exceed 450 weeks. In cases of death, the spouse or dependent may get compensation until 450 weeks.
Will you need an attorney to help you with your workers’ compensation claim?
In most instances, claims regarding workers’ compensation are dealt with routinely, and you typically would not need an attorney to back you up. However, there might be instances where you might feel like you are not receiving everything you are worth. Whenever in doubt, it is perfectly fine to consult with an attorney and ensure you get all the compensation.
In cases where there are any such problems with your claims, your employer will usually be able to give you full clarification and even agree to your requirements over a phone call. In other cases, your employer’s insurance would take up the matter similarly. Remember that the employer or insurance company pays you your compensation, not the workers’ compensation commission. If not satisfied with their answers and solutions, you can file a complaint by directly calling the workers’ compensation commission in Jackson, Mississippi. After this call, you can be sure to decide to contact an attorney to help you with your claim.
Providing workers’ compensation to all employees right from the day of joining is compulsory, according to the legislature. However, this law only applies if your employer has more than five employees under their employment, including you. There is nothing you need to do to be entitled to workers’ compensation specifically. It is directly a part of your employment contract and cannot be removed otherwise.
All sorts of employees in Jackson, Mississippi, are entitled to this workers’ compensation. If you are still in doubt regarding this, you can call or visit the workers’ compensation commission in Jackson, Mississippi, to see if your employer is registered there or not. To seek more assisrance, contact Jackson injury attorney.